Click to Home

Go To Search

Graphic Links
Regional Shoreline Master Program Update
Kittitas County and the Cities of Ellensburg, Cle Elum, and the Town of South Cle Elum (Cities/Town) have initiated participation in a multi-year process to develop a regional Shoreline Master Program (SMP), resulting in adoption of an independent SMP for each jurisdiction.

The Washington State Shoreline Management Act (RCW 90.58) (SMA) and its associated rules (WAC 173-26) require local governments to develop and administer shoreline master programs that include policies and regulations that govern designated shorelines within their respective jurisdictions. The Kittitas County SMP was adopted in 1975 and has been relied on by Kittitas County and the Cities/Town for shoreline regulations. Kittitas County and the Cities/Town are required to update and adopt shoreline master programs by December 1, 2013 {RCW 90.58 (2)(a)(v)].

The Washington State Legislature has provided grant funding through the Washington Department of Ecology (Ecology) for local governments to update their shoreline master programs. Kittitas County and the Cities/Town have agreed, through an Interlocal Agreement, to coordinate the SMP update using grant funding from Ecology. Kittitas County and the Cities/Town have also agreed on a Public Participation Program (PPP), including a related update process timeline. Kittitas County will have the lead role in conducting the PPP, which is designed to engage the public within the unincorporated County and within the Cities/Town.

Scope of Ellensburg Planning Area
The only portion of the City of Ellensburg that falls within the SMA jurisdiction and that will be included in this planning process is the Yakima River shoreline located within Irene Rinehart Park. Some unincorporated lands within the Ellensburg Urban Growth Area are also subject to SMA jurisdiction and will be addressed by Kittitas County in its Shoreline Master Program and the City will have opportunity to participate in and to provide comment on that County Shoreline Master Program development for all such unincorporated areas of the Ellensburg UGA that are subject to SMA jurisdiction. 

Information Sources
Because Kittitas County is the lead project manager for this joint planning process all general information and update material will be found on the Kittitas County Regional Shoreline Master Program Update website. Ellensburg specific information and update material will be included on this City webpage and also on the County’s webpage. 

To view the updated supporting Documents, please visit the Kittitas County Shoreline Master Program website.

If you have questions regarding the Ellensburg portion of Regional Shoreline Master Program Update please contact Shannon Johnson in the Ellensburg Community Development Department.

501 North Anderson Street
Ellensburg, WA 98926
(509) 962-7204