Landmarks & Design Commission


  • First Tuesday of each month at 5:45 PM and third Tuesday of each month (as needed) at 5:45 PM
  • Council Chambers
    501 N. Anderson Street
    Ellensburg, WA 98926

Agendas & Minutes 

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. 

Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas 

Minutes are also available following approval. 

View Minutes


The Commission has seven members, the majority of which must be City residents. The Commission shall include: 

  • Two property owners within the Downtown or Residential Historic Districts
  • Three professionals
  • Two members at large

The Landmarks and Design Commission’s members serve four-year terms. The current Commission members are:

  • Dorothy Stanley (historic property owner), term expires May 31, 2020
  • Maurice Blackson (design professional), term expires May 31, 2021
  • VACANT (design professional), term expires May 31, 2020
  • Marc Brown (design professional), term expires May 31, 2021
  • Amy McCoy, (at-large), term expires May 31, 2021
  • Mollie Edson (historic property owner), Chair, term expires May 31, 2021
  • Megan West (EDA representative), term expires May 31, 2020


The Commission operates under the authority of Chapter 15.280.030 of the City Code. Recognizing the significant role of architectural design and appearance to the development of the community, the Landmarks and Design Commission is responsible for:

  • Assisting in proper, orderly, and aesthetic development by conducting a design review process for those buildings within the City that are covered by the design review permit
  • Protecting, preserving, and enhancing the social, cultural, economic, environmental, aesthetic, and natural values that have established the desirable qualities and unique character of Ellensburg
  • Promoting and enhancing the construction and maintenance practices that encourage visual quality throughout Ellensburg
  • Recognizing environmental and aesthetic design as an integral part of the planning process
  • Promoting and perpetuating educational, cultural, aesthetic, and social values by preserving and protecting structures and places of historic interest